Skip to main content

Reply to this post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: hdehal Date: Mar 9, 2010 9:21pm
Forum: feature_films Subject: Delete non-review reviews?

Hi,

Is it possible to delete reviews? Unfortunately I got one complaint about my format of choice (who rated 0 stars based on that alone, without watching the content) and I got a rebuttal against that by another reviewer, defending the format of choice (who also happened to give a 0 star)... I'm not really interested in showcasing a debate on format wars on my page, but I'd like to keep it for legit reviews (good or bad alike)...

So is it possible to delete non-reviews?

Page in question:
http://www.archive.org/details/OCEANIA-an-independent-film-from-the-San-Francisco-Bay-Area

Thanks!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Moongleam Date: Mar 10, 2010 1:52am
Forum: feature_films Subject: Re: Delete non-review reviews?

GOOD NEWS:

When 0 stars are given, it isn't actually a rating of the movie. It means the poster wanted to comment without affecting the rating.

The worst rating that one can give to a movie here is 1 star.

If a movie already has a rating of 4 stars, e.g., and someone then gives a 0-star comment, the movie will still have a 4-star rating.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: bobsluckycat Date: May 2, 2010 8:24pm
Forum: feature_films Subject: Re: Delete non-review reviews?

I have been doing reviews here since 2004 or so and while I try to be objective and maybe give a little information or incite into the films based on the who, what, when, where, or why of the film, the genre, the actors etc. I just did two more this evening. I have seen a lot of reviews and non-reviews here over the years that have been all over the place as to content. It's a free country. At The very least, if the film generates an after-thought at all which in turn generates a written review, I say good for that film. So keep writing people. Search bobsluckycat for my reviews. There's a slew of them. Yes, I'm a film buff, I confess. Bobsluckycat

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Video-Cellar Date: Mar 9, 2010 11:27pm
Forum: feature_films Subject: Re: Delete non-review reviews?

It's not possible to have reviews removed unless they violate the terms of service (spam or offensive content, etc).

It is acceptable (and encouraged in the FAQ's) to use the reviews function to provide comments, suggests and send questions to the uploader.

The reviews are helpful and constructive comments about using IA. The most valuable lesson a young film-maker can learn is when to listen to comments from experienced people who know.

I have noticed that you have a 700mb AVI available to download from the films website. It is possible to add that file to your internet archive page without creating the embeddable (flash) derivative. I know I won't be downloading the DVD file even though I am interested in seeing the film.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: cosmico Date: Mar 9, 2010 10:00pm
Forum: feature_films Subject: Re: Delete non-review reviews?

If only we could all delete the reviews or comments about our films that we don't like, Harry. :)

The vast majority of indie or fan films on the Archive are easily viewable *right on the page*. Yours is not.

We're trying to help you reach people. We want to help your film be seen by more people. Re-read the comments with that in mind.

Have the humility to listen to good, common sense advice.

Good luck.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: hdehal Date: Mar 9, 2010 10:07pm
Forum: feature_films Subject: Re: Delete non-review reviews?

Sorry, but I don't want to get in a flame-war with *you* since you happen to be one of the people in question.

Like I stated, I'm OK with actual reviews, good or bad, but what you posted (and the other guy rebuttal) are not reviews on the actual content... just format "preferences..."

The format reviews are just distracting. (I have my reasons for not wanting my film embedded on Archive.org and prefer users download the film.)

POINT:
Feel free to watch the film and write a scathing review--I'd be completely OK with keeping a scathing and negative review, but I'd still prefer to have the one about the format preferences removed.

Cheers.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: cosmico Date: Mar 9, 2010 10:13pm
Forum: feature_films Subject: Re: Delete non-review reviews?

The Archive is a place where people freely post anything and everything, and a lot of it isn't necessarily helpful, believe me.

This is not a "flame war" or "format war" as you seem to think it is. At the moment I am running the Linux Mint 8 OS, but I mainly run Windows PCs and I've also owned 3 Macs. You are making a war out of a friendly suggestion.

I'd like to see your film as I'm sure many others would, but only if it can be viewed as an *easy* download (WMV or MP4 file) or playing in my browser. That's the way most content is posted here. Why should I have to download a huge ISO and/or burn a disc? That was my original point.

We're only trying to help you.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: guyzilla Date: Mar 10, 2010 1:22am
Forum: feature_films Subject: Re: Delete non-review reviews?

I'd also like to say as an uploader that some of the reviews I've recieved on films I've contributed have generated comments that have not so much had anything to do with the film itself, but with the presentation of it. I have read such comments saying that I failed to disclose such information as as the year of release, the running time, etc. I may not agree to how important these issues are, but I do respect the right of the reviewers to state their opinions on them. I've read the reviews of your file, and to tell the truth I see nothing to get upset about. Maybe try to use more commonly used file formats to help open your material to a wider audience. No one wants to discourage you from contributing more films. In fact I may download the ISO just to see if I can make it work with what I have here at home.

This post was modified by guyzilla on 2010-03-10 09:22:24

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: hdehal Date: Mar 10, 2010 10:03pm
Forum: feature_films Subject: Re: Delete non-review reviews?

What about removing blatantly-wrong reviews such as on my page:

"an important and reality movie to show the faszination of our ocean!

the earth our aller mother - my reportage !

do more for protection the earth /natur and developed projekts for rebuildung/development!"

(My film is not about oceans or nature... Probably a joke, but alas... Whoosh)